V/S not in sync on MCP (SOLVED)

Forum for the OCP4777X driver that controls PMDG B777X
mvr1918
Site Admin
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by mvr1918 »

Hi,

I am not in my cockpit now, out travelling, but I will try to memorize how things should work both in cockpit and in the code.

To me it looks like you have a HW issue with your MCP. Have you tested that it works OK with SIOC Monitor or other programs.

If I understand you right, all thousands shows up OK on MCP, both +/-. This by reading what you say and looking at the LOG output in IOCPConsole image
To me this is the way it should work if the ALT INCR SW is set to 1000 ( CWS_A push button on MCP HW amd Var 2525 in SIOC)


The code logic of the script is quite simple here:

1) Var 1373 should always show the same value as seen in the 777X MCP VS

2) Var 1373 is displayed to the HW MCP VS display


Try to set ALT INCR SW to both AUTO and 1000
and then dial in from 0 ... to .. 2000

check that Var 1373 follows whatever is in the 777X MCP VS display

Then
try the following to verify that VS's digit number 3 works OK:

Close OCP4777X , but let SIOC run
verify that Var MCP_POWER_ON is set to 1
then
write numbers in the range 0 -100-200 -........... etc all the way up to 2000 in Var 1373

Tell me what you get
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by drayton_k »

Hi Roar,

Yes the hardware works fine in the Ifly 737 that I use regularly using SIOC.

I'm at work at the moment but Ill try what you suggest later and report back.
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by drayton_k »

mvr1918 wrote:
If I understand you right, all thousands shows up OK on MCP, both +/-. This by reading what you say and looking at the LOG output in IOCPConsole image
To me this is the way it should work if the ALT INCR SW is set to 1000 ( CWS_A push button on MCP HW amd Var 2525 in SIOC) Yes I understand that but the V/S should still be able to be adjusted in tens of feet rather than thousands. Its the ALTITUDE display that changes 1000 in that case.

Yes you are correct this is what I mean. But whichever option I choose using the ALT INC SW it still only outputs 1000's to the MCP

1) Var 1373 should always show the same value as seen in the 777X MCP VS - This is correct when using IOConsole, but that does not show within the MCP. IOConsole works as it should, all entries are correct. There is just no change within the MCP V/S screen

2) Var 1373 is displayed to the HW MCP VS display - No only 1000 increments show


Try to set ALT INCR SW to both AUTO and 1000
and then dial in from 0 ... to .. 2000 - No change, anything I enter into the V/S never shows in the MCP. In the sim its fine

check that Var 1373 follows whatever is in the 777X MCP VS display - Yes IOCP COnsole records the correct values

Then
try the following to verify that VS's digit number 3 works OK:

Close OCP4777X , but let SIOC run
verify that Var MCP_POWER_ON is set to 1
then
write numbers in the range 0 -100-200 -........... etc all the way up to 2000 in Var 1373

Any numbers I enter are duplicated in IOCP COnsole.

Tell me what you get
I have made a small video on what I mean but I cant upload it here..
mvr1918
Site Admin
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by mvr1918 »

Hi,

Hi,
Yeah, I mixed up the ALT and VS.

Ok, then we know that OCP4777X is running OK and that the problem is with the interface between the script OCP4777X_V1.3.ssi and your HW MCP.

Here is the script part dealing with the VS output to HW MCP

// Everytime Var 1373 changes, a CALL to VStMCP is initiated ( call to display the Var1373 value to the HW MCP VS display)

Var 1373, name VSfrom777X, static
{
CALL &VStMCPw
}

// Here is the display to HW MCP VS subroutine
Var 0047, name VStMCPw, Link SUBRUTINE
{
IF &MCP_POWER_ON > 0
{
L0 = &VSfrom777X
IF L0 < 0 // if value is below zero
{
&D_VSS = -999998 // sets minus sign to digit 5
L2 = L0 * -1
&D_VS4 = DIV L2 ,1000 // sets 4th digit, the thousands
L1 = MOD L2 ,1000
&D_VS3 = DIV L1 ,100 // sets 3rd digit, the hundreds
&D_VS = MOD L1 ,100 // sets 1st and 2nd digits to zero
}
IF L0 >= 0
{
&D_VSS = -999999 // blank all segments in digit 5
&D_VS4 = DIV L0 ,1000
L1 = MOD L0 ,1000
&D_VS3 = DIV L1 ,100
&D_VS = MOD L1 ,100
}
}
}


I believe that your third VS digit is not connected to the same Output as a standard MCP v3 or MCP 2 or is malfunctioning. Can you check and tell me which output it is connected to.
Check with IOCP Monitor that the 3rd digit accept all digits from 1-to -9.

Too me it seems like 3rd digit is shortcircuit to 1st or 2nd digit.


It should be connected to Digit 16 as seen below.


Var 0041, name D_VS, Link IOCARD_DISPLAY, Device 15, Digit 14, Numbers 2
Var 0042, name D_VS3, Link IOCARD_DISPLAY, Device 15, Digit 16, Numbers 1
Var 0043, name D_VS4, Link IOCARD_DISPLAY, Device 15, Digit 17, Numbers 1
Var 0044, name D_VSS, Link IOCARD_DISPLAY, Device 15, Digit 18, Numbers 1


I can always take a look via TeamViewer if you send an TeamView invitation
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by drayton_k »

Hi Roar,

You have lost me now completely!! :D
How can I invite you on Teamviewer?
mvr1918
Site Admin
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by mvr1918 »

Hi,

Before we try with TeamViewer I want you to verify that digit 3 on HW MCP display is working OK. You can test with starting SIOC.exe and then run IOCP Monitor. Connect to MCP, and test the displays.


TeamViewer can be downloaded for free and you just send me an email with your TeamViewer ID and PSW.

I can connect every weekdays between 7.30 to 9.00 PM

Roar
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by drayton_k »

Roar,

I have Teamviewer installed now just in case. Ill take a look later in IOCP Monitor and if needs be ill send the email.

Many thanks Roar
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP

Post by drayton_k »

Roar, i have just sent you a PM.
drayton_k
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:18 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP - FIXED

Post by drayton_k »

After extensive testing and excellent support by Roar through Teamviewer, a new script was supplied and the problem is now solved.

Thanks Roar for all your help.
kit0074
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: V/S not in sync on MCP (SOLVED)

Post by kit0074 »

Hi, I just purchase the OCP4777X and I just have the same problem since I just register and I can't sent PM, Can you please sent hwo to fix this problem

THX

Kit
Post Reply